40 Wild and Scenic Rivers Designated in Oregon

40 Wild and Scenic Rivers Designated in Oregon

In 1988, Pacific Rivers (then Oregon Rivers Council) took the unprecedented step of crafting the nation’s first large federal river protection act, the landmark Oregon Omnibus National Wild and Scenic River Act of 1988. This Act remains the largest river protection legislation in the nation’s history. It added 40 outstanding rivers totaling 1500 river miles to the National Wild and Scenic River system in Oregon. Seven additional rivers were given “Study” status for future designation.

Segments of the following rivers were added to the system:

  • Big Marsh Creek
  • Chetco River
  • Clackamas River
  • Crescent Creek
  • Crooked River
  • Deschutes River
  • Donner und Blitzen River
  • Eagle Creek
  • Elk River
  • Grande Ronde River
  • Imnaha River
  • John Day River
  • Joseph Creek
  • Little Deschutes River
  • Lostine River
  • Malheur River
  • McKenzie River
  • Metolius River
  • Minam River
  • North Fork Crooked River
  • North Fork John Day River
  • North Fork Malheur River
  • North Fork of the Middle Fork of the Willamette River
  • North Fork Owyhee River
  • North Fork Smith River
  • North Fork Sprague River
  • North Powder River
  • North Umpqua River
  • Powder River
  • Quartzville Creek
  • Roaring River
  • Salmon River
  • Sandy River
  • South Fork John Day River
  • Squaw Creek
  • Sycan River
  • Upper Rogue River
  • Wenaha River
  • West Little Owyhee River
  • White River

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *